AEJMC Scholastic Journalism Division

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

THE ROBERT P. KNIGHT MULTICULTURAL RECRUITMENT AWARD

The **AEJMC Scholastic Journalism Division** is accepting nominations for the 2014 ROBERT P. KNIGHT MULTICULTURAL RECRUITMENT AWARD. The Knight Multicultural Recruitment Award is presented to any individual or media organization that has made significant contributions to promoting diversity in scholastic media programs. The award is named for Robert P. Knight, a professor in the University of Missouri School of Journalism who served as director of the Missouri Interscholastic Press Association from 1965 to 1992. Knight received the award in 1990.

In 2013, CSM member Linda Callahan, a professor in the Department of Journalism and Mass Communication at North Carolina A&T State University, was the recipient of the AEJMC Robert P. Knight Multicultural Recruitment Award.

To nominate a person or an organization for the 2014 award, please do the following:

Mail or e-mail a **nomination letter** of 1 to 2 pages to **Joe Dennis**, the award chair. The mail and email addresses are listed below. In addition to information about the nominee, please include the nominator's name, title, school or organization, e-mail address and phone number. Multiple nomination letters are acceptable and recommended.

In addition, send a document or a link to a document that lists nominee's achievements with regard to promoting diversity in scholastic media programs. (i.e. A CV or résumé, a Web site link, or other appropriate information). **The deadline is April 15, 2014.**

Please send nomination materials to:

Joe Dennis Grady College of Journalism & Mass Communication Journalism Building 120 Hooper Street Athens, Ga. 30602-3018 E-mail: jodennis@uga.edu Dennis

The award recipient will be chosen by an independent selection committee of AEJMC Scholastic Journalism Division Members and will be notified within two months of the award deadline by e-mail. The award will be presented at the 2014 AEJMC Conference, which will be held in Montréal, Canada, Aug. 6-9, 2014.

The Scholastic Journalism Division of AEJMC provides a connection between secondary school journalism teachers and media advisers and college-level journalism educators. The focus of the division includes promoting high journalism education standards, improving teacher training for journalism and media teachers and supporting student free expression rights.

ROBERT P. KNIGHT MULTICULTURAL RECRUITMENT AWARD

Past Recipients

2013 - Linda Callahan, North Carolina A&T State University

- 2012 Illinois Press Foundation/Eastern Illinois High School Journalism Workshop
- 2011 Joseph Selden, associate dean for multicultural affairs in the College of Communications at Pennsylvania State University
- 2010 University of Arizona School of Journalism
- 2009 Philadelphia Daily News
- 2008 June O. Nicholson, associate professor in the School of Mass Communications at Virginia Commonwealth University
- 2007 Edward Mullins, Behringer Distinguished Professor at the University of Alabama Department of Journalism
- 2006 Ted Stanton, professor emeritus of the University of Houston School of Communication
- 2005 Chris Strudwick-Turner, Director of the Student Journalism Program for the L.A. Times
- 2004 Diana Mitsu Klos, AEJMC High School Journalism Senior Project Director
- 2003 Vanessa Shelton, University of Iowa
- 2002 Walt Swanston, Senior Project Director for Diversity and Education Programs, Radio and Television News Directors Foundation
- 2001 Doris J. Giago, South Dakota State University
- 2000 Linda Waller (Shockley), Dow Jones Newspaper Fund
- 1999 Marie Parsons, University of Alabama
- 1998 Lucy Ganje, University of North Dakota
- 1997 San Diego Chapter, California Chicano News Media Association
- 1996 Barbara B. Hines, Howard University
- 1995 Diane Hall, Florida A&M University
- 1994 Mary Arnold, The University of Iowa
- 1993 Alice Bonner, The Freedom Forum
- 1992 Richard Lee, South Dakota State University
- 1991 Thomas E. Engleman, Dow Jones Newspaper Fund
- 1990 Robert P. Knight, University of Missouri- Columbia
- 1989 George Curry, Chicago Tribune
- 1988 Craig Trystad, Youth Communication
- 1987 Pittsburgh (Pa.) Black Media Federation